Friday Fiction: Slice of Life 18

Chapter 18: A Day in Their Life

“Have you seen my tripod?” Sarosh asked, closing the first cabinet and turning towards her friends. Maya and Sarah were hunched over the laptop. “What are you two looking at?”

“No, and we are going through last week’s photos. There are some superb ones here, Ro,” Maya said, without taking her eyes off the screen.

“Thanks,” Sarosh beamed at the praise. “I thought so too. It was a perfect day, and I really enjoyed taking pictures at the carnival.”

“True, and now, all we need is to decide which one to enter the competition.”

“Oh, I don’t think they’re that good,” Ro-ever-the-perfectionist said. “Actually, I was thinking of taking some more today.” She was rummaging through the rest of the cabinets. “I swear, I left my tripod here,” she grumbled.

“I don’t think so,” Maya said. “We would’ve noticed it. That ugly pink thing.” Sarah laughed at her tone, while Sarosh gave her a dirty look. “Seriously, what possessed you to use those hideous tripod leg wraps?” Maya exaggerated a shudder.

“Don’t mind that,” Sarosh said, waving a hand, and not bothered by her friend’s over-the-top reaction. She didn’t buy it. Her cousin gave it to her, but she would not explain it to anyone. “I need it for today’s photoshoot.”

“No one uses this room besides us,” Maya reminded her. “If you left it here, then it should be here, and if it’s not, that means you left it somewhere else.”

“Did you check at your house?” Sarah asked.

“No,” Sarosh sighed. “I was so sure I had left it at school. I guess we’ll have to do without it.”

“Let’s take some pictures,” Sarah said as they walked out hand in hand.

© 2022 Fizza Younis. All Rights Reserved.

Read previous chapters here.

Leave a comment